The Department of Labour Sarawak is one of the Departments under the Ministry of Human Resources. The Department commenced its operation on 26 July 1960 with staff strength of six (6) people. As at December 2015, the number has increased to 293. With the increase in staff strength, the Department has been able to improve the quality of its service delivery.

Before the formation of Malaysia, the functions of the Department of Labour Sarawak were under the jurisdiction of the Resident and District Office. With the formation of Malaysia on the 16 September 1963, the Department was placed under the Ministry of Labour, now known as the Ministry of Human Resources. With effect from 29 November 2002, the Department took over the functions of the Department of Manpower in Sarawak.

Under the Inter-Governmental Committee (IGC) Report 1962, the Commissioner of Labour Sarawak, currently designated as the Director of Labour Sarawak, reports to the Honourable Minister of Human Resources through the Secretary General of the Ministry with regards to the enforcement and administration of labour laws in Sarawak. 

On 25 January 2010, JobsMalaysia Centre (JMC) was established in Kuching while JobsMalaysia Points (JMP) was established in all Labour Offices throughout Sarawak as a one stop centre for employment services



The establishment of UTC, an abbreviation for Urban Transformation Centre or Pusat Transformasi Bandar, was announced by the Secretary-General of the Ministry of Finance, Tan Sri Dr Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah on 18 July 2013. It commences operation with effect from 17 September 2014. Since then, there are 27 government agencies operating on a full-ledge basis at UTC Kuching. It is one of the government efforts and initiatives to provide the urban communities with various core government and private sector agencies services in a one-stop centre or in one premise.


UTC Kuching is located at Bukit Mata Road, Kuching and operating hours are from 8.30 a.m to 9.00 p.m from Monday to Sunday except on public holidays.


Agencies under the Ministry of Human Resources such as Department of Labour Sarawak, Industrial Training Institute Kota Samarahan, Department of Skils Development, Skills Development Fund Corporation share a common space to provide the services to the clients.

The Department of Labour Sarawak has its headquarters in Kuching with 16 Labour Offices operating   throughout   Sarawak.   The   dates   of establishment of theses Labour Offices are as follows:


Mobile Web


Latest Articles

05 February 2020
23 October 2019

Visitor Counter

Highest 03-25-2020 : 7465
Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicySecurity PolicyCopyright Notice

©2019 All Right Reserved, Department of Labour Sarawak JTKSWK Portal - Best Viewed 1366x 768 Resolution with Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox 17.0.1
Last Updated On: 9 December 2019